Team Andorra Wins 2021 Edition of 4 Nations Cup

Making a glorious return after a year of pandemic hiatus, Curling Luxembourg again hosted the traditional 4 Nations Cup event. After a two-day feast of curling, the trophy went into the hands of Team Andorra.

Valentin Ortiz, Cesar Mialdea, Enric Morral, Josep Garcia and coach José Sanguesa took the final game 7-4 over the second Luxembourg team (Dan Kelly, Claude Schweitzer, Alex Benoy and Candice Richards).

The 2021 edition of 4 Nations Cup saw the participation of teams from Andorra, Belgium (Zemst), Germany (Erfurt) and two Luxembourg teams.

The event once again proved that curling spirit forges strong bonds between clubs in the region and beyond and organisers are already looking forward to next year’s event.

Last Stone Draw decides 2021/22 Coupe de Luxembourg

Dan Kelly, Karen Wauters and Jimmy Stryhn won the 2021/22 Coupe de Luxembourg. Three teams participated in the tournament that provided plenty of curling fun and some high-level curling.

This was especially true of the final game where Team Kelly faced Team Schweitzer (Claude Schweitzer, Barry Foulds, Volker Beba). At the end of the regular game both teams were tied 4-4 after six ends, and a two-player last stone draw was played to decide the winner.

In the end, team Kelly were the more precise team, with the cumulative distance of both stones from the centre being less than 20 centimeters.

Third place went to Team Benoy (Alex Benoy, Phillipe Giltaire, Matt Goerens).

Team Lëtzebuerg Wins Beneleux Championship

Team Lëtzebuerg at the Belenux Curling Championship

With 9 wins, 4 draws and 3 defeats Team Lëtzebuerg won the Benelux Curling Cup in the Netherlands over the weekend.

Luxembourg sent two five-member crews to the competition and with 33 points finished ahead of opponents Belgium (21 points) and the Netherlands (18 points),

The second edition of the Benelux Curling Cup took place in Zoetermeer in the Netherlands on 9 and 10 October 2021. The first edition took place in Zemst (Belgium) in October 2019 before the COVID-19 pandemic and was won by the Belgian hosts.

Each country played with four teams. Two teams of four and two doubles teams. Each team played four games, meaning each country played sixteen games, accumulating points in the process .

Luxembourg teams were composed as follows:

Team 1: Volker Beba, Alex Benoy, Barry Foulds, Philippe Giltaire and Lukas Jirousek;

Team 2: Jean Champagne, Dan Kelly, Ealya Kaleghi, Claude Schweitzer and Karen Wauters.

Next up for Curling Luxembourg is the annual Coupe de Luxembourg, taking place at Kockelscheuer on 6 and 7 November 2021.